top of page

Sun, Dec 06

|

Bopfingen

Advent Concert - A Ceremony of Carols

Benefit concert of the Lions Club Ostalb - Ipf Canceled because of Corona!

Registration complete
view events
Advent Concert - A Ceremony of Carols
Advent Concert - A Ceremony of Carols

Zeit & Ort

Dec 06, 2020, 5:00 PM – 6:40 PM

Bopfingen, 73441 Bopfingen, Germany

Über die Veranstaltung

For the first time, the NEUE KAMMERCHOR HEIDENHEIM dare to tackle a milestone in the Christmas chamber choir literature: A Ceremony of Carols by Benjamin Britten.

The piece was made forChristmaswritten and consists of elevensentenceson textsThe English Galaxy of Shorter PoemsfromGerald Bullettthat onMiddle Englishto be sung. The piece was published on December 4, 1943 in theWigmore HallinLondonPremiered.

The work was written in 1942 while Britten was en route from theUnited StatesafterEnglandwas on the high seas. The work was written at the same time as BrittensHymn to St Ceciliaand is stylistically very similar.

Britten originally planned a series of individual songs. However, they were later fashioned into a coherent work. The framework for this is the unanimousHodie Christ natus est(lat.: "Today Christ was born"), which is based on aGregorian antiphonis based and is intoned by the choir at the entrance and exit. A harp solo based on this chant, as well as some other motifs from Wolcum Yole, also serves to meld into one piece. In the movements "This Little Babe" and "Deo Gracias" the chorus reflects harp-like effects through usagetighter canons.

Sun 06 Dec 2020 - 5 p.m

Catholic Church Bopfingen

Charity concert Lions Club Ostalb Ipf

Diese Veranstaltung teilen

bottom of page

So., 06. Dez. | Bopfingen

Adventskonzert - A Ceremony of Carols

Benefizkonzert des Lions Club Ostalb - Ipf Wegen Corona abgesagt !
Anmeldung abgeschlossen
Adventskonzert - A Ceremony of Carols

Zeit & Ort

06. Dez. 2020, 17:00 – 18:40
Bopfingen, 73441 Bopfingen, Deutschland

Über die Veranstaltung

Erstmals wagen sich der NEUE KAMMERCHOR HEIDENHEIM an einen Meilenstein der weihnachtlichen Kammerchor - Literatur: A Ceremony of Carols von Benjamin Britten.

Das Stück wurde für Weihnachten geschrieben und besteht aus elf Sätzen auf Texte aus The English Galaxy of Shorter Poems von Gerald Bullett, die auf Mittelenglisch gesungen werden. Das Stück wurde am 4. Dezember 1943 in der Wigmore Hall in London uraufgeführt.

Das Werk wurde 1942 geschrieben, während Britten auf dem Weg von den Vereinigten Staaten nach England auf Hoher See war. Das Werk wurde zur selben Zeit geschrieben wie Brittens Hymn to St. Cecilia und ist dieser stilistisch sehr ähnlich.

Ursprünglich plante Britten eine Reihe einzelner Lieder. Sie wurden jedoch später zu einem zusammenhängenden Werk gestaltet. Den Rahmen dafür bildet das einstimmige Hodie Christus natus est (lat.: „Heute wurde Christus geboren“), das auf einer gregorianischen Antiphon basiert und vom Chor zum Ein- und Auszug intoniert wird. Ein Harfensolo, das auf diesem Gesang, sowie einigen anderen Motiven aus „Wolcum Yole“ basiert, dient ebenfalls der Verschmelzung zu einem Stück. In den Sätzen „This Little Babe“ und „Deo Gracias“ reflektiert der Chor harfenähnliche Effekte durch Verwendung enggeführter Kanons.

So 06. Dez 2020 - 17 Uhr

katholische Kirche Bopfingen

Benefizkonzert Lions-Club Ostalb Ipf

Diese Veranstaltung teilen